Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content


     ADMINISTRATIVE AND INFRASTRUCTURE DEPARTMENTS  


March of Dimes administration or infrastructure departments, comprising Human Resources, Finance, Corporate Services, and Information Technology, operate very efficiently and are the backbone for our programs. We continue to develop new and innovative procedures, to implement and adapt new technologies, and to enhance our skills to support the delivery of our many diverse and increasingly national community services.

BECOMING MARCH OF DIMES CANADA 

A Year of Firsts: This past year, to prepare for continued national expansion, MODC reorganized and introduced new roles in senior management; Chief Administrative Officer (CAO), responsible for Human Resources and Corporate Services, Chief Financial Officer (CFO), responsible for Finance and Information Technology, and Chief Operations Officer (COO), who oversees the programs and planning for the organization. MODC operates with a small Executive Management Committee of CEO, COO, CFO and CAO and a larger Senior Management Committee. The Senior Management Team was also enhanced with the promotion of five Senior Managers to Associate Directors.

MODC Senior Management Structure

Performance of the administrative departments in 2013-2014 was very strong and resulted in a number of 'Firsts':​

Green Indicator FINANCE AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY


 

In 2013-2014 progress was made on a number of projects:

  • A lease management program was completed to allow the content and financial tracking of over 90 leases;

  • Scheduling software in support of Independent Living Service is now fully implemented and will reduce program staff time spent on administration;

  • New functionality was developed in-house for report generation for the Human Resources Information System;

  • Independent Living has fully implemented the international community health assessment software used by the Ontario health and community services sector as a common data base;

  • The IT department is continuing to transition MODC software to a virtual, cloud-based system.

MODC is focused on data security and ensuring compliance with privacy legislation. MODC systems met the security standards of the Canadian military and an internal audit of the IT systems resulted in no outstanding issues.

Green Indicator HUMAN RESOURCES AND CORPORATE SERVICES


 

Key accomplishments for 2013-2014:

  • All labour contracts were successfully negotiated and should ensure stability in the coming years. Union and non-union compensation is better aligned.

  • New orientation and on-boarding programs have been developed and continue to be refined to support new staff in adapting to the organizational culture and their new roles. The 2013 staff turnover rate dropped by 3% compared to the prior year.

  • Training programs have been successfully delivered to all employees related to Cross-Cultural Diversity, Creating a Respectful Workplace and Sensitivity Awareness in compliance with the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act.

  • Benefits administration was brought in-house to reduce overall administrative costs.

  • Reductions in lost time resulted in a rebate from the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board.

  • The sale of administrative and mediation services continued, and included financial services to a local organization that does international community development projects in Africa and Asia. These services met their financial targets.

  • The successful transition from Ontario March of Dimes to MODC included changes in all corporate materials and signage.

Green Indicator FUND DEVELOPMENT, MARKETING AND COMMUNICATIONS


 

Fundraising achieved 97.8% of its net revenue target in 2013-2014, despite the negative impact of the harsh and prolonged winter on our community campaign. It was a year in which we were challenged to deliver strong results in our long-term programs such as the community campaign and the break-open tickets gaming program, but we also had a year of firsts. 

Our direct mail program continues to expand across Canada and results outside of Ontario were stronger than within Ontario. 

The 2013 Ability and Beyond Gala, our premier event, featured guest speaker Alan Thicke and a special appearance by Bret “the Hitman” Hart. Both shared personal stories about what it is like to be a Canadian living in the spotlight, and how disability has affected them personally. 

Walk ‘n’ Roll events were held at retail outlets and shopping malls across Canada with local peer groups. This brings awareness about the needs of polio and stroke survivors and how MODC helps. 

The Marketing and Communications Department refreshed all materials, including the website, and replaced external signage at over ninety locations. Social media grew and we added Instagram to our platforms for communicating with our supporters. Followers increased on Twitter and Facebook by over 25%.

A Year of Firsts: We expanded the Monthly Donor Program outside of Ontario for the first time and the results have been positive with donors giving monthly in the Vancouver area. 

Shoppers Home Health Care sponsored Living with A Disability events across Canada where local consumers and caregivers received practical information and tips on how to live with a disability and still maintain their independence. 

Rock for Dimes continues to expand and for the first time we paired a service locally with this fundraising program. The vehicle retrofit initiatives which provided funds to three families in Nova Scotia and British Columbia were a great tie-in with Rock for Dimes Halifax and Vancouver. Volunteer committees in those areas chose the winners of the competition based on MODC established criteria. MODC launched a new Rock for Dimes e-newsletter in the summer of 2013 which provides a behind-the-scenes look at the participating bands, the winners and details of upcoming events. We are very grateful to Pennzoil and the Istvan and Barbara Haas Assistive Devices and Vehicle Retrofit Initiative for helping us launch our Retrofit Program. 

As MODC programs expand across Canada, the department seeks new opportunities to build brand and fund services outside of Ontario. The department now supports March of Dimes Canada Committees in Halifax, Montreal, Calgary and Vancouver. 

Also for the first time, MODC presented financial planning seminars outside of Ontario, in Vancouver and Calgary, that focused on the disability tax credits available to Canadians with disabilities.


MODC Events

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​



© 2013 March of Dimes Canada. All rights reserved.

Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content


     SERVICES ADMINISTRATIFS ET D’INFRASTRUCTURE  


Les Services administratifs ou d’infrastructure de la Marche des dix sous – qui englobent les Ressources humaines, les Finances, les Services généraux et la Technologie de l’information – fonctionnent de façon très efficace et constituent l’épine dorsale de nos programmes. Nous continuons d’élaborer des procédures nouvelles et novatrices, de déployer et d’adapter de nouvelles technologies, et de rehausser nos compétences en vue d’appuyer la prestation de plusieurs de nos services communautaires diversifiés, dont la portée est de plus en plus nationale.

DEVENIR LA MARCHE DES DIX SOUS DU CANADA 


Une année de premières : 
Au cours de la dernière année, afin de nous préparer à étendre nos activités à l’échelle nationale, la MDSC a restructuré la haute direction et a créé de nouveaux rôles : un directeur administratif, un responsable des Ressources humaines et des Services généraux, un responsable des Finances et de la Technologie de l’information, et un directeur des opérations qui supervise les programmes et la planification pour l’organisation. La MDSC a un petit comité exécutif composé de la PDG, du directeur des opérations, du directeur des finances et du directeur administratif; elle dispose aussi d’un comité de haute direction plus nombreux. L’équipe de la haute direction a également été rehaussée par la promotion de cinq gestionnaires supérieurs au rang de membres associés du conseil d’administration.

Infrastructure de MDSC

Les Services administratifs ont donné un solide rendement en 2013-2014, ce qui a mené à une série de premières :​

Le vert indique FINANCES ET TECHNOLOGIE DE L’INFORMATION


 

En 2013-2014, on a réalisé des progrès dans plusieurs projets :

  • On a achevé la mise en oeuvre d’un programme de gestion des baux qui permet de suivre le contenu et les coûts de plus de 90 baux;

  • Un logiciel d’établissement des horaires est maintenant entièrement déployé et réduira le temps que consacre le personnel des Services de vie autonome aux tâches administratives;

  • De nouvelles fonctionnalités ont été élaborées à l’interne pour permettre la préparation de rapports pour le Système d’information sur les ressources humaines;

  • Les Services de vie autonome ont pleinement déployé le logiciel international d’évaluation des besoins en santé de la communauté utilisé par Santé Ontario et le secteur des services communautaires comme base de données commune;

  • Le Service de technologie de l’information continue de transférer les logiciels de la MDSC à un système virtuel en nuage.

La MDSC met l’accent sur la sécurité des données et le respect des lois sur la protection de la vie privée. Les systèmes de la MDSC ont répondu aux normes de sécurité de l’armée canadienne et une vérification interne des systèmes de TI n’a révélé aucun problème en suspens.

Le vert indique RESSOURCES HUMAINES ET SERVICES GÉNÉRAUX


 

Principales réalisations pour 2013-2014 :

  • Tous les contrats de main-d’oeuvre ont été négociés avec succès et devraient assurer une stabilité dans les années à venir. Les salaires du personnel syndiqué et non syndiqué sont mieux harmonisés.

  • De nouveaux programmes d’orientation et d’accueil des nouveaux employés ont été élaborés et continuent d’être peaufinés afin d’aider le nouveau personnel à s’adapter à la culture organisationnelle et à leurs nouveaux rôles. En 2013, le taux de roulement du personnel a diminué de 3 % par rapport à l’année précédente.

  • Conformément à la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario, des programmes de formation sur la diversité culturelle, la création d’un milieu de travail respectueux et la sensibilisation ont été offerts avec succès à tous les employés.

  • L’administration des avantages sociaux a été ramenée à l’interne afin de réduire les frais administratifs généraux.

  • La réduction du temps gaspillé a mené à une remise de la part de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail.

  • La vente de services administratifs et de médiation s’est poursuivie; nous avons entre autres fourni des services financiers à un organisme local qui réalise des projets internationaux de développement communautaire en Afrique et en Asie. Ces services ont atteint leurs objectifs financiers.

  • La transition réussie de la Marche des dix sous de l’Ontario à la MDSC incluait des changements à tout le matériel et aux enseignes de l’organisation.

Le vert indique DÉVELOPPEMENT DES FONDS, MARKETING ET COMMUNICATIONS


 

Les activités-bénéfice ont permis de recueillir 97,8 % des revenus nets prévus en 2013-2014, malgré l’impact négatif d’un hiver long et rigoureux sur notre campagne communautaire. Cette année, nous avons dû relever le défi de produire des résultats probants dans nos programmes à long terme comme la campagne communautaire et le programme de billets à languettes, mais nous avons aussi connu une année de premières.

Notre programme de publipostage continue de prendre de l’ampleur partout au Canada et les résultats obtenus à l’extérieur de l’Ontario ont été meilleurs que ceux obtenus dans la province. 

Alan Thicke était l’invité d’honneur du gala « Ability and Beyond », notre événement-phare. Bret « The Hitman » Hart était également présent à cette occasion. Les deux ont livré un témoignage personnel sur ce que cela signifie d’être une célébrité canadienne et ont raconté comment ils ont été personnellement touchés par l’invalidité.

Des événements « Walk n’ Roll » ont eu lieu dans des magasins de détail et des centres commerciaux partout au Canada de concert avec des groupes d’entraide locaux. Cette activité permet de sensibiliser le public aux besoins des survivants de la polio et d’un ACV et à l’aide que fournit la MDSC. 

Le Service du marketing et des communications a remanié tout le matériel, y compris le site Web, et a remplacé toutes les enseignes à plus de 90 endroits. Nos médias sociaux ont pris de l’ampleur et nous avons ajouté Instagram à nos plateformes pour communiquer avec nos supporteurs. Le nombre d’abonnés et de fans sur Twitter et Facebook ont augmenté de plus de 25 %.

Une année de premières : Nous avons déployé le programme de donateurs mensuels à l’extérieur de l’Ontario pour la première fois et les résultats ont été positifs : nous comptons maintenant de nouveaux donateurs mensuels dans la région de Vancouver. 

Shoppers Home Health Care a parrainé des événements « Vivre avec une invalidité » un peu partout au Canada et des usagers et aidants naturels locaux y ont reçu des renseignements et des conseils pratiques sur la façon de vivre avec une invalidité, tout en maintenant leur autonomie.

« Rock for Dimes » continue de prendre de l’ampleur et, pour la première fois, cette activité-bénéfice a été jumelée à un service local. Les initiatives d’adaptation de véhicules, qui ont fourni des fonds à trois familles en Nouvelle-Écosse et en Colombie-Britannique, cadraient très bien avec les événements Rock for Dimes de Halifax et de Vancouver. Des comités de bénévoles dans ces régions ont choisi les gagnants du concours d’après les critères établis de la MDSC. A l’été 2013, la MDSC a inauguré un bulletin électronique qui dévoile les coulisses du concours et fournit des détails sur les groupes participants, les gagnants et les événements à venir. Nous sommes très reconnaissants à Pennzoil et à l’Initiative d’adaptation des appareils et accessoires fonctionnels et des véhicules Istvan et Barbara Haas de nous avoir aidés à lancer notre programme d’adaptation.

A mesure que la MDSC étend ses activités à tout le Canada, le service cherche de nouvelles occasions de renforcer l’image de marque et de financer des services à l’extérieur de l’Ontario. Le service appuie maintenant des comités de la Marche des dix sous à Halifax, Montréal, Calgary et Vancouver.

Également, pour la première fois, la MDSC a présenté des séminaires de planification financière à l’extérieur de l’Ontario (Vancouver et Calgary); ces séances portaient sur le crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées offerts aux Canadiens qui ont un handicap.


MDSC 2013-2014

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​



© 2013 March of Dimes Canada. All rights reserved.