Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content


     A YEAR OF FIRSTS: 

     COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT AND INTEGRATION SERVICES  


The services under the Community Engagement and Integration Services Department all share the common goals of increasing consumer independence and community participation, and enhancing quality of life.

Green Indicator CONDUCTIVE EDUCATION®


 

Conductive Education - Halifax Camp 2013 Conductive Education (CE) is an innovative learning approach based on neuroplasticity that increases physical literacy for people with disabilities. Outcomes include improvements in mobility, dexterity, self-esteem, motivation and independence. Since 2000, MODC has funded nine students to become qualified conductors, receiving an honours B.A. and Conductor Certification in England. 

CE is given a green rating as it achieved its service goals and exceeded its financial targets. However, there are flags that cause concern as there are no Canadian institutions with a Conductor training program and it is becoming increasingly difficult to train Canadians abroad or import accredited foreign Conductors.

A Year of Firsts: Despite a number of barriers, new opportunities to expand CE emerged in 2013: a British Columbia camp for stroke survivors, a CE camp in Calgary, Alberta, a children’s March Break camp in Nova Scotia, and in the new Life Skills and Transitional Service.

Green Indicator LIFE SKILLS AND TRANSITIONAL SERVICES
Learning Independence for Future Empowerment Program (Greater Toronto Area) blue divide Learning Independence for Future Empowerment Program (Peel)  blue divide Personal Effectiveness Training Program (Niagara) blue divide Warehouse Program (Thunder Bay)  


 
This new service grouping was created in 2012 and operated as a coordinated department for its first full year in 2013-2014. The four programs currently under this department include the Learning Independence for Future Empowerment (L.I.F.E.) Greater Toronto Area (GTA) program, the L.I.F.E. Peel Program, the Personal Effectiveness Training program in Niagara, and the Warehouse program, a drop-in centre in Thunder Bay. This department also oversees two youth leadership programs, one in partnership with the Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital and one with Camp Awakening. A program evaluation of the new L.I.F.E. GTA curriculum shows high satisfaction with the program, particularly the urban exploration and the social interaction components.

These innovative programs have received funding and strong support from United Ways, community foundations, family and corporate foundations, and the Ontario government, as they address critical needs.

A Year of Firsts: The newest program, L.I.F.E. Greater Toronto Area, combines classroom learning, programming with Outward Bound, urban exploration and Conductive Education. This program was recently a recipient of the Toronto Community Foundation’s Vital Signs Award and received support from two additional family foundations. 

Interest in this program is growing and MODC is exploring opportunities to open additional programs in communities within other provinces.

L.I.F.E. program at Ripley's Aquarium

Green Indicator PEER AND VOLUNTEER SUPPORT SERVICES
Peers Fostering Hope blue divide DesignAbility®  blue divide BeFriending® 


 

Peer Support Services help stroke and polio survivors and their families by providing emotional support and encouragement as well as information and educational programs, with the goal of promoting active community living. In 2013-2014, the program supported 71 chapters and affiliated peer support groups, served over 1,100 participants, held over two dozen conferences and events such as Living With a Disability, Breaking Barriers, Living with Chronic Conditions, Wellness Retreats, Aphasia Camps, as well as, coordinating social activities and travel programs for its members. 

DesignAbility Skate Horse launch Winter 2013Volunteer Support Services supports and coordinates volunteer-run direct services, including DesignAbility®, which pairs professional designers with consumers who require a design modification on a device or facility for greater independence; BeFriending®, which pairs people with a disability with a volunteer sharing common interests for social and recreational purposes; and the Hospital Visitation Programs, using volunteer stroke survivors to meet with new stroke survivors and their families to provide hope, information and encouragement. This year, DesignAbility experienced a 10% increase in volunteers and a 15% increase in projects while volunteer and consumer hours increased by 60% in BeFriending programs.

A Year of Firsts: Peers Fostering Hope, the Toronto Hospital Visitation Program, with funding support from the Dr. Ed and Bobby Yielding Fund for Stroke Recovery, provided its first full year of volunteer support to outpatients at ten Greater Toronto Area hospitals and rehabilitation centres.

Yellow Indicator RECREATION AND ACCESSIBLE TRAVEL PROGRAM
Geneva Park Summer Holiday Program  blue divide ModMobility®  blue divide Accessible Travel


 

ModMobilityThis program provides increased community participation and quality of life through the provision of recreation and travel opportunities to people with disabilities. It includes the Geneva Park- based Summer Holiday Program which provides a six-day residential holiday at an integrated resort; ModMobility®, an accessible bus service offers social outings for groups in the Greater Toronto Area; and Accessible Travel, a service providing accessible multi-day domestic and international trips. 

Overall, this program met its financial and service goals. However, the harsh winter and ice storm in 2013-2014 forced the cancellation of many trips, and the ModMobility service fell short of its ridership target.

A Year of Firsts: Despite the harsh winter, ModMobility operated for its first full year, delivering more than 9,000 rides. CE partnered with Accessible Travel to offer the first Conductive Education at sea program as part of a cruise.

Green Indicator INFORMATION AND ADVOCACY SERVICES


 

A key goal for the Government Relations and Advocacy Department has been to become part of the disability dialogue in provinces across Canada. To date, we have been active in all provinces, and have made representation on legislation, policy and budget priorities. This has been a good tactic to introduce MODC and our services, increase our intelligence about the priority issues for each government, and identify potential opportunities for service development. We appreciate the reception we have received. MODC has identified a select number of universal issues that affect people with disabilities in all provinces. We have initiated dialogue in the Toronto Declaration on Bridging Aging and Disability, legislating accessibility, and employment; all issues that coincide with the priorities of policy-makers across Canada. 

Examples of MODC’s contributions provincially include the British Columbia Minister’s Council on Employment and Accessibility, the Alberta Social Policy Framework, Saskatchewan’s Disability Strategy, Manitoba’s Accessibility Act, Nova Scotia’s “Putting People First” paper and the development of commitments to accessibility laws, New Brunswick’s Employment and Disability consultations and Newfoundland’s Disability Dialogue. At the federal level, MODC has made submissions to parliamentary committees on employment and disability, youth employment, aging and disability, and the Fair Elections Act. 

We have been especially active on employment related issues over the past year, speaking federally to the Human Resource Development Standing Committee on Employment, and our local Member of Parliament and in Ontario on social assistance reform and employment issues to the Premier, the Minister of Finance, Minister of Community and Social Services, Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities and the Standing Committee on Economic Development. In addition to employment, all levels of government are interested in the aging population and services required as this demographic grows. MODC will continue to partner with service providers, researchers and policy-makers to address the needs of people aging with and into a disability. 

This department has also contributed to Information Services through the production of the newsletter, The Advocate, and the creation of March of Dimes Minutes on YouTube which convey important information to consumers and their families. 

Information Services continues to build our social media program, as well as support MODC’s web site content and functionality. All Ontario March of Dimes programs and information are being rebranded as MODC, and the department develops all program materials to market to consumers.

A Year of Firsts: National expansion has created many firsts for our Government Relations program: the first parliamentary appearances in Manitoba and Nova Scotia, and outreach to the governments of Newfoundland and Saskatchewan. Internationally, MODC is now an accredited delegate to the United Nations Conference on States Parties to the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.


​​​​



© 2013 March of Dimes Canada. All rights reserved.

Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content


     UNE ANNÉE DE PREMIÈRES: 

     SERVICES D’ENGAGEMENT COMMUNAUTAIRE
     ET D’INTÉGRATION  


Les services réunis sous la bannière des Services d’engagement communautaire et d’intégration partagent tous le même objectif, à savoir d’augmenter l’autonomie et la participation communautaire des usagers et d’améliorer leur qualité de vie.

Le vert indique ÉDUCATION CONDUCTIVE®


 

Éducation conductive - Camp de Halifax 2013 L’Éducation conductive® est un système d’apprentissage novateur fondé sur les principes de la neuroplasticité et qui augmente l’habileté physique des personnes qui ont un handicap, améliorant leur mobilité, leur dextérité, leur estime de soi, leur motivation et leur autonomie. Depuis 2000, la MDSC a fourni une aide financière à neuf étudiants pour leur permettre de devenir des conducteurs qualifiés en obtenant un baccalauréat spécialisé et une reconnaissance professionnelle en Angleterre. 

L’EC a reçu une cote verte parce qu’elle a atteint ses objectifs en matière de service et a dépassé ses objectifs financiers. Certains aspects sont cependant préoccupants puisqu’il n’y a aucune institution canadienne qui offre un programme de formation de conducteurs et qu’il devient de plus en plus difficile de former des Canadiens à l’étranger ou d’importer des conducteurs étrangers qui détiennent une reconnaissance professionnelle.

Une année de premières : Malgré un certain nombre d’obstacles, de nouvelles occasions d’élargir les services d’ÉC se sont présentées en 2013 : un camp pour survivants d’un ACV en Colombie-Britannique, un camp d’ÉC en Calgary, Alberta, un camp pour enfants pendant la relâche de mars en Nouvelle-Écosse, et dans les nouveaux Services de transition et de dynamique de la vie.

Le vert indique SERVICES DE TRANSITION ET DE DYNAMIQUE DE LA VIE
Programme « Learning Independence for Future Empowerment » (Grand Toronto) blue divide Programme « Learning Independence for Future
Empowerment » (Peel) blue divide Programme de formation sur l’efficacité personnelle (Niagara) blue divide Programme Warehouse (Thunder Bay) 


 
Ce nouveau groupe de services a été créé en 2012 et a fonctionné comme un service coordonné pour une première année complète en 2013-2014. Les quatre programmes actuellement compris dans ce service sont le programme « Learning Independence for Future Empowerment » (L.I.F.E.) du Grand Toronto, le programme L.I.F.E. de Peel, le Programme de formation sur l’efficacité personnelle à Niagara et le Programme Warehouse, un centre sans rendez-vous situé à Thunder Bay. Ce service supervise aussi deux programmes de leadership pour jeunes, un en partenariat avec le Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital et un avec le Camp Awakening. Une évaluation du nouveau programme L.I.F.E. (GT) révèle un niveau de satisfaction élevé, surtout à l’égard des activités d’exploration urbaine et d’interaction sociale.

Étant donné qu’ils comblent des besoins essentiels, ces programmes novateurs ont reçu un financement et un appui solide des organismes Centraide, de fondations communautaires, de fondations familiales et organisationnelles, et du gouvernement de l’Ontario.

Une année de premières : Le plus récent programme, L.I.F.E. Grand Toronto, combine l’apprentissage en classe, des programmes réalisés de concert avec Outward Bound, l’exploration urbaine et l’Éducation conductive. Ce programme a récemment reçu le prix Vital Signs de la Fondation communautaire de Toronto et a reçu le soutien de deux autres fondations familiales. 

Ce programme fait l’objet d’un intérêt croissant et la MDSC explore des occasions de lancer d’autres programmes dans des communautés d’autres provinces.

Programme L.I.F.E. à l'Aquarium de Ripley

Le vert indique SERVICES D’ENTRAIDE ET DE BÉNÉVOLAT
Peers Fostering Hope blue divide DesignAbility®  blue divide BeFriending® (Réseau d’amis)


 

Les Services d’entraide aident les survivants d’un ACV et de la polio et leurs proches en leur fournissant un soutien moral, de l’encouragement, de l’information et des programmes éducatifs en vue de favoriser une participation active à la vie communautaire. En 2013-2014, le programme a appuyé 71 sections et groupes d’entraide affiliés, desservi plus de 1 100 participants, organisé plus de deux douzaines de conférences et d’événements comme « Vivre avec une invalidité », « Éliminer les obstacles », « Vivre avec des maladies chroniques », des retraites de bien-être et des camps d’aphasie; il a aussi coordonné des activités sociales et des programmes de voyages pour ses membres. 

DesignAbility - Hiver 2013Les Services de bénévolat appuient et coordonnent les services directs fournis par des bénévoles, y compris DesignAbility®, qui jumelle des concepteurs professionnels à des usagers qui ont besoin d’adapter un appareil ou accessoire ou une installation pour une plus grande autonomie; le programme Befriending® (Réseau d’amis), qui jumelle une personne handicapée à un bénévole ayant des intérêts communs pour des activités sociales et récréatives; et les programmes de visites à l’hôpital – qui jumellent des bénévoles qui ont subi un ACV à de récents survivants d’un ACV et leurs proches pour fournir de l’espoir, de l’information et de l’encouragement. Cette année, les effectifs du programme DesignAbility® ont augmenté de 10 % et ses projets de 15 %; et le nombre d’heures de bénévolat et de service fournies aux usagers du programme Befriending® a augmenté de 60 %.

Une année de premières : Grâce à un financement du Fonds du Dr. Ed et Bobby Yielding pour le rétablissement après un ACV, « Peers Fostering Hope », le programme de visites à l’hôpital de la région de Toronto, a fourni sa première année complète de soutien bénévole à des patients externes dans dix hôpitaux et centres de réadaptation du Grand Toronto.

Le jaune indique LOISIRS ET VOYAGES ACCESSIBLES
Programme de vacances estivales au Parc Geneva  blue divide ModMobility®  blue divide Voyages accessibles


 

ModMobilityCe programme permet une participation communautaire accrue et une qualité de vie améliorée en fournissant des occasions de loisirs et de voyage aux personnes qui ont un handicap. Il comprend le programme de vacances estivales au Parc Geneva, qui offre des vacances résidentielles de six jours dans un centre de villégiature intégré; ModMobility®, un service de transport accessible qui offre des sorties sociales à des groupes dans la région métropolitaine de Toronto; et Voyages accessibles, qui fournit des voyages accessibles de plusieurs jours au pays et à l’étranger.

Dans l’ensemble, ce programme a atteint ses objectifs financiers et de service. Toutefois, l’hiver rigoureux et la tempête de glace de 2013-2014 ont forcé l’annulation de nombreux voyages, et le service ModMobility n’a pas desservi le nombre d’usagers prévu.

Une année de premières : Malgré l’hiver rigoureux, ModMobility a connu sa première année complète d’activité et a fourni plus de 9000 déplacements. L’ÉC s’est alliée à Voyages accessibles pour offrir le tout premier programme d’Éducation conductive en mer dans le cadre d’une croisière.

Le vert indique SERVICES D’INFORMATION ET D’INTERVENTION


 

Un des objectifs clés du Service des relations gouvernementales et d’intervention était de participer au dialogue sur l’invalidité partout au pays. Jusqu’ici, nous avons été actifs dans toutes les provinces et avons fait des présentations sur les lois et règlements, les politiques et les priorités budgétaires. Cela s’est avéré une bonne tactique pour présenter la MDSC et nos services, mieux comprendre les questions prioritaires pour chaque gouvernement et cerner les occasions potentielles de développement des services. Nous sommes reconnaissants de l’accueil qui nous a été réservé. La MDSC a cerné un certain nombre de questions universelles qui touchent les personnes handicapées dans toutes les provinces. Nous avons entamé un dialogue dans la Déclaration de Toronto sur les liens entre le vieillissement et l’invalidité, la promulgation de lois sur l’accessibilité, et l’emploi – toutes des questions qui correspondent aux priorités des décideurs partout au Canada.

À titre d’exemples des contributions de la MDSC à l’échelle provinciale, citons le Conseil du ministre sur l’emploi et l’accessibilité de la Colombie-Britannique, le cadre de politiques sociales de l’Alberta, la Stratégie sur l’invalidité de la Saskatchewan, la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les Manitobains, le document « Putting People First » de la Nouvelle-Écosse et l’élaboration de lois sur l’engagement envers l’accessibilité, les consultations sur l’emploi et l’invalidité au Nouveau-Brunswick et le dialogue sur l’invalidité à Terre-Neuve. À l’échelon fédéral, la MDSC a fait des présentations à des comités parlementaires sur l’emploi et l’invalidité, l’emploi chez les jeunes, le vieillissement et l’invalidité, et la Loi sur l’intégrité des élections.

Au cours de la dernière année, nous avons été particulièrement actifs dans les questions liées à l’emploi et avons témoigné à l’échelon fédéral devant le Comité permanent du développement des ressources humaines et notre député fédéral local; en Ontario, nous avons témoigné sur la réforme de l’aide sociale et les questions liées à l’emploi devant le Premier ministre, le ministre des Finances, le ministre des Services sociaux et communautaires, le ministre de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités et le Comité permanent du développement économique. En plus de l’emploi, tous les paliers de gouvernement s’intéressent au vieillissement de la population et aux besoins en services découlant de l’augmentation de ce segment démographique. La MDSC continuera de forger des alliances avec des fournisseurs de services, des chercheurs et des décideurs pour aborder les besoins des personnes qui vieillissent avec une invalidité ou qui en développeront une en raison de l’âge.

Ce service a aussi contribué aux Services d’information en produisant le bulletin The Advocate, et en créant sur YouTube des « minutes de la Marche des dix sous », qui communiquent d’importants renseignements aux usagers et à leurs familles.

Les Services d’information continuent d’enrichir notre programme de médias sociaux et de rehausser le contenu et la fonctionnalité du site Web de la MDSC. Tous les programmes et renseignements offerts par la Marche des dix sous de l’Ontario sont rebaptisés du nom de la MDSC, et les Services d’information élaborent tout le matériel de programme à promouvoir auprès des usagers.

Une année de premières : L’expansion à l’échelle nationale a créé de nombreuses premières pour le programme des relations gouvernementales : témoignages pour la première fois devant des comités parlementaires au Manitoba et en NouvelleÉcosse, et démarches auprès des gouvernements de Terre-Neuve et de la Saskatchewan. À l’échelle internationale, la MDSC est maintenant un délégué accrédité de la Conférence des États parties de la Convention relative aux droits des droits des personnes handicapées adoptée par les Nations Unies.


​​​​​​​​



© 2013 March of Dimes Canada. All rights reserved.