Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content


     A YEAR OF FIRSTS: 

     2013-2014 PROGRAM RESULTS 


This report is the first for March of Dimes Canada as a consolidated entity, officially combining the previous operations of two corporations, Ontario March of Dimes and MODC. The theme of this year’s Annual Report, A Year of Firsts, derives from this important event, but also acknowledges a number of other ‘firsts’ occurred and are to be celebrated. The program results that follow, in addition to performance results, will highlight some of these ‘Firsts’, as will other sections of this report.

GRADING EXPLANATION 

Each year, the organization undertakes a three-part program planning process which establishes goals and key performance indicators for all programs and departments. Management reports results to the Board at mid-year and year-end against these targets in scorecard format. The scorecard uses a green-yellow-red code to rate the degree of goal achievement.

Green IndicatorGREEN       indicates targets were achieved or exceeded.

Yellow IndicatorYELLOW    indicates results fell short or were unresolved.

Red IndicatorRED            indicates significant shortfalls or threats to success that need to be highlighted and addressed.

The following section provides a summary of the year’s outcomes and the rationale for the ratings assigned.

Green Indicator ACCESSABILITY® SERVICES
The Assistive Devices Program  blue divide The Home and Vehicle Modification Program®  blue divide Barrier-Free Design Consultation Service


 

McDonald Van - Retrofit The goal of these services is to improve personal mobility and accessibility for people with disabilities. 

The Assistive Devices Program (ADP) provided 3,631 devices to 1,679 consumers, exceeding our target by 35%. New funding from the Istvan and Barbara Haas Assistive Devices and Vehicle Retrofit Initiative, permitted the establishment of a special fund for under-resourced communities and a new retrofit initiative outside of Ontario. 

The Home and Vehicle Modification Program® (HVMP) provided an additional 80 grants for modifications due to one-time year-end funds provided by the Ontario Ministry of Community and Social Services. Streamlined and automated processes reduced the application-to-funding period by 36 days. HVMP was also an advisor to the Ontario Ministry of Finance’s Senior Healthy Homes Tax Credit program. 

MODC’s Barrier-Free Design Consultation Service provides proposal review and advice to the Ontario Trillium Foundation and, in partnership with Quadrangle Architects Ltd., consults with businesses, government and organizations on compliance with the AccessAbility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act. 

Both services exceeded their service and financial targets. 

A Year of Firsts: Prior to 2013, all AccessAbility Services were delivered in Ontario. Last year, with the support of the Istvan and Barbara Haas Assistive Devices and Vehicle Retrofit Initiative, Pennzoil, and private donors, MODC coordinated two vehicle modification competitions, awarding a family in Nova Scotia and two in British Columbia with over $50,000 in vehicle modifications.

Green Indicator EMPLOYMENT SERVICES
Employment Services (Fee-for-Service) Programs  blue divide Accessible Biz Connections


 

Employment Services fee-for-service programs grew by over $1 million and the number of consumers served increased by 4% over the prior year. The growth was driven by Rehabilitation Services and Workplace Safety and Insurance Board Assessments, with MODC opening a new office in Windsor. Key performance indicators related to referrals, job placement and job retention, were all on target. 90.2% of consumers with our Job Search Training Program reported they were pleased with their referral to MODC Employment Services and 93.5% were very satisfied or satisfied with the program.

A Year of Firsts: In 2013, MODC launched Accessible Biz Connections, a wage subsidy program in partnership with the Canadian Federation of Independent Businesses and the Canadian Restaurant and Food Association, serving the three Prairie provinces and Atlantic Canada. As a result, Employment Services completed expansion of direct services to all ten provinces. The new program is funded by the Government of Canada’s Opportunities Fund for Persons with Disabilities.

Green Indicator INDEPENDENT LIVING SERVICES
Independent Living Programs  blue divide Attendant Services  blue divide Acquired Brain Injury Services blue divide Northern Medical Clinics Program


 

Annie Janson, Mr. and Mrs. Plourde, Dr. Markku Nousiainen Consumer service hours grew by 20% or 400,000 hours as a result of fourteen new and expanded Independent Living programs. This included new group activities, seniors home support services, fall prevention training for seniors, and increased demand for services for people with complex care needs and acquired brain injuries. All key performance service indicators were met. This ISO certified program reported no significant non-conformance issues. 

More growth is expected in the program’s future with MODC becoming a provider at the athletic village site of the Pan Am/Parapan Am Games athlete’s legacy village site and adjacent facilities in 2016. MODC is also working with the Brain Injury Association of Canada to identify outstanding housing and support service needs for this population in other provinces. 

Independent Living Services also oversees the Northern Medical Clinics Program which brings medical doctors to those northern communities that are without local specialists to diagnose and treat patients. Over 1,000 patient visits were held. This remains one of the organization’s most highly-rated services by the participants.

A Year of Firsts: Over the past few years, the Independent Living program has responded to increased demand for accessible supportive housing for people who are medically fragile or have complex or significant care needs. Over the past two years, MODC has partnered with the Reena Foundation to provide service to people with a dual physical and cognitive diagnosis. Last year, three individuals with very high and complex care needs requiring 24-hour nursing and personal care assistance, successfully transitioned from hospital to Reena’s new accessible supportive housing site in Vaughan, Ontario where MODC provides their care.

Green Indicator PASSPORT PROGRAM


 
The Passport Program provides service planning and individualized funding from the Ottawa Region of the Ministry of Community and Social Services to individuals with developmental disabilities. In 2013 program funding increased by $580,000 and served 1,700 consumers, an increase of almost 7%.
 
​​​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​
​​​​ ​​​​​​​



© 2013 March of Dimes Canada. All rights reserved.

Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content


     UNE ANNÉE DE PREMIÈRES: 

     RÉSULTATS DES PROGRAMMES 2013-2014 


Le présent rapport est le tout premier à être publié par la Marche des dix sous du Canada en tant qu’entité consolidée, combinant officiellement les activités antérieures de deux sociétés : la Marche des dix sous de l’Ontario et la MDSC. Le thème du rapport annuel de cette année, « Une année de premières », souligne cet important virage mais reconnaît aussi plusieurs autres « premières » qui méritent d’être célébrées. Les résultats présentés ci-dessous, en plus des résultats en matière de rendement et d’autres sections de ce rapport, mettent en évidence certaines de ces « premières ».

EXPLICATION DES COTES 

Chaque année, l’organisme se livre à un processus de planification des programmes en trois volets. Ce processus établit des objectifs et des indicateurs clés du rendement pour tous les programmes et services. À la lumière de ces objectifs, la direction présente les résultats au conseil d’administration à mi-mandat et en fin d’exercice sous la forme d’un « bulletin » utilisant un code aux couleurs vert-jaune-rouge pour coter le degré de réussite.

Le vert indique VERT         Le vert indique que les objectifs ont été atteints ou dépassés.

Le jaune indique JAUNE      Le jaune indique que les résultats étaient inférieurs aux objectifs ou non résolus.

Le rouge indique ROUGE     Le rouge indique d’importantes lacunes ou menaces au succès qui doivent être mises en évidence et rectifiées.

La section ci-après dresse un bilan des résultats de cette année et explique les cotes attribuées.​​

Le vert indique SERVICES ACCESSABILITY® (Services adaptés)
Programme d’appareils et d’accessoires fonctionnels  blue divide Programme d’adaptation des habitations et des véhicules  blue divide 
Service de consultation en aménagement pour accès facile


 

La fourgonnette adaptée des McDonald Ces services visent à améliorer la mobilité personnelle et l’accès pour les personnes qui ont un handicap

Le Programme d’appareils et d’accessoires fonctionnels (PAAF) a fourni 3 631 appareils et accessoires à 1 679 usagers, soit 35% de plus que l’objectif visé. Un nouveau financement provenant de l’Initiative d’adaptation des appareils et accessoires fonctionnels et des véhicules Istvan et Barbara Haas a permis de créer un fonds spécial pour les communautés mal desservies et un nouveau programme d’adaptation à l’extérieur de l’Ontario. 

Quatre-vingt subventions d’adaptation supplémentaires ont été octroyées dans le cadre du Programme d’adaptation des habitations et des véhicules (PAHV), grâce à des fonds uniques de fin d’année fournis par le ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires de l’Ontario. Des processus rationnalisés et automatisés ont permis de réduire de 36 jours le délai de traitement des demandes. Le PAHV a également agi comme conseiller pour le programme de crédit d’impôt pour l’aménagement du logement axé sur le bien-être du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.

Le Service de consultation en aménagement pour accès facile de la MDSC examine les propositions et fournit des conseils à la Fondation Trillium de l’Ontario et, en partenariat avec Quadrangle Architects Ltd., consulte les entreprises, les instances gouvernementales et les organismes relativement à la conformité à la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario. 

Les deux services ont dépassé leurs objectifs financiers et de service. 

Une année de premières : Avant 2013, tous les Services adaptés étaient fournis en Ontario. L’an dernier, grâce au soutien de l’Initiative d’adaptation des appareils et accessoires fonctionnels et des véhicules Istvan et Barbara Haas, de Pennzoil et de donateurs privés, la MDSC a coordonné deux concours d’adaptation de véhicules et a octroyé à une famille de la NouvelleÉcosse et à deux familles de la Colombie-Britannique des adaptations d’une valeur de plus de 50 000 $.

Le vert indique SERVICES D’EMPLOI
Services d’emploi (programmes de paiement à l’acte)  blue divide Accessible Biz Connections


 

Les programmes de paiement à l’acte des Services d’emploi ont augmenté de plus d’un million de dollars et le nombre d’usagers desservis a augmenté de 4 % par rapport à l’année précédente. Cette croissance était due en grande partie aux évaluations des Services de réadaptation et de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail – la MDSC a ouvert un nouveau bureau à Windsor. Les indicateurs clés du rendement liés à l’aiguillage, aux placements et au maintien de l’emploi ont tous été atteints. Par ailleurs, 90,2 % des usagers de notre Programme de formation en recherche d’emploi se sont dit heureux d’avoir été aiguillés vers les Services d’emploi de la MDSC et 93,5 % étaient satisfaits ou très satisfaits du programme.

Une année de premières : En 2013, la MDSC a inauguré Accessible Biz Connections, un programme de subventions salariales réalisé en partenariat avec la Fédération canadienne de l’entreprise indépendante et l’Association canadienne des restaurateurs et des services alimentaires et qui dessert les trois provinces des Prairies et le Canada atlantique. Les Services d’emploi ont ainsi atteint leur objectif d’offrir des services directs dans les dix provinces. Le nouveau programme est financé par le Fonds d’intégration pour les personnes handicapées du gouvernement du Canada.

Le vert indique SERVICES DE VIE AUTONOME
Programmes de vie autonome  blue divide Services d’auxiliaires  blue divide Services d’aide aux personnes atteintes d’un traumatisme crânien blue divide 
Programme des Cliniques médicales du Nord


 

Annie Janson, M. et Mme. Plourde, Dr. Markku Nousiainen Le nombre d’heures de service aux usagers a augmenté de 20 % pour atteindre 400 000 heures, et ce, grâce à 14 programmes de vie autonome nouveaux et élargis, dont des nouvelles activités de groupe, des services de soutien à domicile pour aînés, une formation en prévention des chutes pour aînés, et une demande accrue à l’égard des services pour les personnes ayant des besoins complexes en matière de soins et celles qui ont subi un traumatisme crânien. Tous les indicateurs clés du rendement ont été atteints. Aucun problème de conformité n’a été signalé dans le cadre de ce programme homologué ISO.

On s’attend à ce que ce programme continue de grandir. La MDSC deviendra un fournisseur au Village des athlètes des Jeux panaméricains/parapanaméricains et les installations adjacentes en 2016. La MDSC travaille aussi avec l’Association canadienne des lésés cérébraux en vue de cerner les besoins en logement et en services de soutien de cette population dans d’autres provinces.

Les Services de vie autonome supervisent aussi le programme des Cliniques médicales du Nord, en vertu duquel des médecins se rendent dans les communautés du Nord où il n’y a pas de spécialistes locaux pour diagnostiquer les maladies et traiter les patients. Plus de 1 000 visites médicales ont eu lieu. Ce programme demeure l’un des services les plus haut cotés par les participants.

Une année de premières : Au cours des dernières années, le programme de Vie autonome a répondu à une demande accrue de logements supervisés accessibles pour les personnes médicalement fragiles ou qui ont des besoins complexes ou significatifs en matière de soins. Dans les deux dernières années, la MDSC s’est alliée à la Fondation Reena pour fournir des services aux personnes présentant un double diagnostic d’invalidité physique et cognitive. L’an dernier, trois personnes ayant des besoins très poussés et complexes en matière de soins et nécessitant des soins infirmiers et une aide personnelle 24 heures sur 24 ont fait une transition réussie de l’hôpital aux nouveaux logements supervisés de Reena à Vaughan, Ontario, où la MDSC fournit des soins.

Le vert indique PROGRAMME PASSEPORT


 
Le Programme Passeport fournit une planification des services et un financement personnalisé du ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires de la Région d’Ottawa aux personnes qui ont des déficiences du développement. En 2013, le financement de ce programme a augmenté de 580 000 $ et 1 700 usagers ont été desservis, soit une augmentation de près de 7 %.
 
​​​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​
​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​



© 2013 March of Dimes Canada. All rights reserved.