Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content


      PRESIDENT AND CHAIR'S MESSAGE 

Andria Spindel and Blair Roblin
A Year of Firsts



It’s wonderful to celebrate our first full year as one entity, March of Dimes Canada (MODC), having operated as two since 2001 when Ontario March of Dimes created a federal subsidiary as a nationally registered charity. Similarly our non-profit housing subsidiary is now March of Dimes Canada Non-Profit Housing Corporation, and we also have March of Dimes Canada Foundation, which is not yet operational. 

We welcomed our first out-of-Ontario director, Lynn Wagner from Halifax, to our national Board and inaugurated March of Dimes Committees in Halifax, Montreal, Vancouver and Calgary. Our first satellite office was in Halifax, followed by Calgary and Vancouver, enabling MODC to expand across Canada. We recently received our first contract for service to Nunavut, providing assessments to people who have experienced a brain injury. We held our first fundraiser in Edmonton, bringing the total number of Rock for Dimes events to 13 across Canada, and we planned our first Calgary OpportuniTEAS with Hollywood star Kate Linder..

ModMobility® was launched last year, a new Toronto accessible bus service, funded in part by the Local Health Integration Network, serving groups of people with disabilities primarily for recreational purposes. We successfully integrated a small but significant agency into the MODC family and thank the Board of the Hospital for Special Needs Incorporated (HSNI) for placing their trust in us.
 

Three large bequests contributed to the launch of new initiatives; the Istvan and Barbara Haas Assistive Devices and Vehicle Retrofit Initiative, the Dr. Ed and Bobby Yielding Fund for Stroke Recovery and the Peter Collins Thunder Bay Reserve (for future projects). Additionally, the Board established a National Program Development and Evaluation Fund. Pennzoil also contributed to our Retrofit Program in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

At the end of the fiscal year of this report, the corporation is again in a very good financial position and will increase funds for national development, capital replacement and upgrades, research, and recreation services.

This report showcases many firsts and acknowledges the accomplishments of the many talented and dedicated staff and volunteers, whom we sincerely thank. Included are stories and statistics that depict who are our clients and how we deploy resources. Full financial statements are posted on our website, along with a host of information to enable the reader to find a service they need and to help donors and funders appreciate our full accountability. We welcome feedback and direct you to www.marchofdimes.ca
 

Sincerely,
Andria Spindel, President and CEO Blair Roblin, Chair, Board of Directors

​​​​
​​​​​



© 2013 March of Dimes Canada. All rights reserved.

Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content


      MESSAGE DE LA PRÉSIDENTE ET PDG ET
      DU PRÉSIDENT DU CONSEIL D’ADMINISTRATION 


Andria Spindel et Blair Roblin
Une annee de premieres




C’est merveilleux de célébrer notre première année complète comme entité unique: la Marche des dix sous du Canada (MDSC), après avoir existé comme deux entités distinctes depuis 2001, quand la Marche des dix sous de l’Ontario a créé une filiale fédérale, un organisme de bienfaisance national enregistré. De même, notre Société d’habitation à but non lucratif est devenue la Société d’habitation à but non lucratif de la Marche des dix sous du Canada, et nous avons également la Fondation de la Marche des dix sous du Canada, qui n’est pas encore fonctionnelle.  


Notre conseil d’administration national a accueilli son premier membre provenant de l’extérieur de l’Ontario en la personne de Lynn Wagner de Halifax. Nous avons inauguré des comités de la Marche des dix sous à Halifax, Montréal, Vancouver et Calgary. Nous avons ouvert notre premier bureau à Halifax, suivi de Calgary et Vancouver, ce qui a permis à la MDSC d’étendre ses activités à tout le Canada. Nous avons récemment reçu notre premier contrat pour la prestation de services au Nunavut, soit des services d’évaluation à des personnes qui ont subi un traumatisme crânien. Nous avons organisé notre première activité-bénéfice à Edmonton, portant le nombre total d’événements « Rock for Dimes » à 13 au pays. Nous avons aussi planifié notre premier événement OpportuniTEAS à Calgary avec la star hollywoodienne Kate Linder.

ModMobility® – un nouveau service de transport par autobus accessible à Toronto financé en partie par le Réseau local d’intégration des services de santé – a été inauguré l’an dernier. Il dessert des groupes de personnes handicapées, principalement à des fins récréatives. Nous avons intégré avec succès un petit organisme dans la famille de la MDSC et nous remercions le conseil d’administration du Hospital for Special Needs Incorporated (HSNI) de la confiance qu’il nous témoigne.
 

Trois grands legs testamentaires ont permis de lancer de nouvelles initiatives : l’Initiative d’adaptation des appareils et accessoires fonctionnels et des véhicules Istvan et Barbara Haas, le Fonds du Dr Ed et Bobby Yielding pour le rétablissement après un ACV, et le Fonds de réserve Peter Collins Thunder Bay (pour projets futurs). Le conseil d’administration a également créé un Fonds national d’élaboration et d’évaluation de programmes. Pennzoil a aussi contribué à notre programme d’adaptation à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

À la fin de l’exercice qui fait l’objet du présent rapport, l’organisme se trouve encore une fois en très bonne situation financière et augmentera les fonds affectés au développement national, au remplacement et à la modernisation des immobilisations, à la recherche et aux services de loisirs et d’intégration sociale.

Le présent rapport fait état de nombreuses premières et souligne les réalisations de plusieurs employés et bénévoles, que nous remercions sincèrement. Il contient des histoires et des statistiques illustrant qui sont nos usagers et comment nous déployons nos ressources. Des états financiers complets sont affichés sur notre site Web, ainsi que de nombreux autres renseignements qui aideront les visiteurs à trouver les services dont ils ont besoin et les donateurs et subventionneurs à apprécier notre totale transparence. Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de vos commentaires et suggestions et à visiter notre site à l’adresse www.marchofdimes.ca
 

Cordialement,
Cordialement Andria Spindel et Blair Roblin

​​​​
​​​​​​​​​



© 2013 March of Dimes Canada. All rights reserved.