Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
logo Annual Report 2012


Our Work
Financial Statements
60th Celebrations
Awards and Grants
Board of Directors
Thank you to our Donors


Each year we acknowledge and celebrate those individuals and organizations that contribute to fulfilling our mission.

2011 Provincial and National Award recipients

Back row (from left): Elizabeth Greville, Andria Spindel, Marilyn Daley, Matt Staples, Joan Hobbs, Teena Tomlinson, David Summers, Cameron Whale, Chris Burbidge, Naz Husain, Diana Simpson, Zora Jackson (Awards Chair)

Front row: Anthony Ramuscak, Pauline Montigny, Christine Karcza, Rachele Dove, David Shannon

Missing: Marc Belliveau, David Graves, Bruce Marchand

National and Provincial Award Recipients: 2011


Awarded to an owner(s) of a building or facility that has been designed or renovated with special regard to accessibility for persons with a disability.

CITY OF MISSISSAUGA, Mississauga, Ontario


Awarded to a present or past member of the Board of Directors who has contributed at least 15 years of significant volunteer service and contribution to March of Dimes.

CAMERON WHALE, Toronto, Ontario

Judge George Ferguson Award

Awarded to an organization or individual contributing in an outstanding way to enabling equality and full participation for people with disabilities.

TEENA TOMLINSON, Ottawa, Ontario

Rick Hansen Award of Excellence

Awarded to an individual who has demonstrated the dedication and commitment exemplified by Rick Hansen, achieving international recognition in aiding people with physical disabilities.

DAVID SHANNON, OOnt, OC, Thunder Bay, Ontario

Vocational Rehabilitation Award

Awarded to an organization that made an outstanding contribution to the vocational rehabilitation and employment of adults with physical disabilities.

McDONALD’S, St. Catharines, Ontario

Community Partnership Award

Awarded to an organization or business for outstanding collaboration with March of Dimes Canada in support of persons with disabilities.


Jeannette Shannon Post-Polio Program Volunteer Award

Awarded to that rare individual whose involvement in the Post-Polio Program best replicates the late Jeannette Shannon’s extraordinary legacy.

PAULINE MONTIGNY, North Bay, Ontario

Reverend Roy Essex Award

Awarded to a long-term volunteer who has demonstrated a high degree of commitment and made an outstanding contribution to the programs and services of March of Dimes Canada. There were three award recipients in this category for 2011:

MARC BELLIVEAU, Halifax, Nova Scotia
DAVID GRAVES, Halifax, Nova Scotia
BRUCE MARCHAND, Halifax, Nova Scotia

The Right Honourable Paul Martin Sr. Award

Awarded for service to Ontario March of Dimes in the areas of fundraising, service or policy. Joan was also presented with a letter personally signed by Former Prime Minister, the Right Honourable Paul Martin on behalf of his family.

JOAN HOBBS, Aylmer, Ontario

Richard Kall Employee Award of Excellence

Awarded to any full or part-time employee who demonstrates selflessness, excellence, improves the work environment and enhances customer service.

MARILYN DALEY, Mississauga, Ontario

Wade Hampton Employment Training Bursary

Awarded to any Ontarian with a physical disability requiring financial assistance to pursue a profession or career goal. There were two recipients this year:

RACHELE DOVE, Fenwick, Ontario
ANTHONY RAMUSCAK, Hamilton, Ontario


donald_weaver.jpgDR. DONALD WEAVER

With the release of the life saving polio vaccine in 1955, Dr. Jonas Salk established a worldwide reputation as a scientist and a humanitarian. The Dr. Jonas Salk Award is presented annually to a Canadian scientist, physician or researcher who has made a new and outstanding contribution in science or medicine to prevent, alleviate or eliminate a physical disability.

The award is jointly presented by sanofi pasteur and March of Dimes Canada and includes a contribution of $10,000 by
sanofi pasteur in recognition of the recipient's achievement.

Dr. Weaver is a unique in that he is an internationally acclaimed neurologist with a PhD in computational organic chemistry. His current positions include professor and Canada Research Chair in Clinical Neuroscience at Dalhousie University, Research Director for the Department of Medicine at Dalhousie Medical School and Capital Health and affiliated scientist at the NRC Institute for Biodiagnostics.

Dr. Weaver’s research focuses on the design and synthesis of novel drugs for the treatment and eventual cure of chronic neurological disorders like epilepsy and Alzheimer’s disease. 


Photo: Andria Spindel, Dr. Donald Weaver and Debbie Reynolds. Dr. Weaver was presented his Award at the
2012 Ability & Beyond Gala® Dinner


© 2012 March of Dimes Canada. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy   Disclaimer   Contact Us